Universiteit Leiden

nl en


Are you curious and critical? Do you engage with the world around you? Leiden University was founded in 1575 and, with seven faculties and a presence in the cities of Leiden and The Hague, is one of the leading international universities in Europe. Its motto is Praesidium Libertatis – Bastion of Freedom.

The five teaching and research clusters in which Leiden University excels are:

  • Fundamentals of Science
  • Life Sciences
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Law, Politics and Administration
  • Languages, Cultures and Societies

For our students we work intensively with our partner universities, Delft University of Technology and Erasmus University Rotterdam, as well as with leading universities all around the world.

This video can not be shown because you did not accept cookies.

You can leave our website to view this video.

This website uses cookies. More information.