Universiteit Leiden

nl en


Leiden University was founded in 1575 and is one of the leading international research universities in Europe. Its motto is Praesidium Libertatis – Bastion of Freedom

The five disciplinary clusters in which Leiden University and the Leiden University Medical Center excel are:

  • Fundamentals of Science
  • Life Sciences
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Law, Politics and Administration
  • Languages, Cultures and Societies

Leiden University has seven faculties, situated in Leiden and The Hague.

This website uses cookies.  More information.