Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Faculty of Science

Awards and Grants 2017

An overview of awards and prizes granted to our staff and students in 2017, as well as special appointments and royal distinctions.

Awards and Prizes

  • Marileen Dogterom new KNAW board member
  • Professor Ronald Cramer received an ERC Advanced Grant from the EU for his proposal 'Algebraic Methods for Stronger Crypto'
  • PhD student Lisanne Rens receives the H.D. Landahl Mathematical Biophysics Award
  • Professor Jo Hermans receives the Gero Thomas Commemorative Medal from The European Physical Society (EPS) 
  • Joanna Pawlak to Yale University School of Medicine 
  • Changsheng Wu to Laboratory of Genetically Encoded Small Molecules, Rockefeller University
  • Professor Hermen Overkleeft appointed the new Scientific Director of chemistry institute LIC
  • Dr. Remko Offringa appointed professor in Plant Developmental Genetics
  • Professor Koos Biesmeijer appointed professor in Natural Capital
  • PhD student Sung-Shik Jongmans receives the IPA Dissertation Award 2016
  • Dr. Adrian Hamer received the PhD thesis award prize of the International Astronomical Union
  • Professor Mario van der Stelt receives the Young Investigator Award from the International Cannabinoid Research Society
  • Annelot van Esbroeck wins awards at international conference in Canada
  • Dr. John van Noort appointed professor in Biophysics
  • Professor Marc Koper was appointed as member of the Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen (KNAW)
  • Professor Thomas Hankemeier receives grant from Zon-MW for the further development of their "microvessel-on-a-chip-model"
  • Professor Wessel Kraaij became Distinguished Member of the Association for Computing Machinery
  • PhD student Sander Blok receives the LION Image Award 2017
  • Holland Research School of Molecular Chemistry awards PhD project to David Klein
  • Professor Martina Vijver receives a Special Recognition Award from the World Cultural Council
  • New rare plant species named after Hortus prefect professor Paul Kessler
  • Professor Joost Kok was appointed to be the new Dean of University of Twente’s EEMCS Faculty
This website uses cookies.  More information.