Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Faculty of Science

About Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science is located at the Leiden Bio Science Park. It was founded more than two centuries ago and currently, more than 8000 people are working and studying at the eight institutes.


The Faculty of Science is spread over various buildings. The Science Campus consists of the Gorlaeus Building, Gorlaeus Lecture Halls, Gorlaeus Faculty Office, LMUY, Huygens, Oort and Snellius. The buildings Sylvius and Van Steenis are also situated at the Bio Science Park.

The new Gorlaeus Building is in full development. In the future it will house all institutes and departments under one roof. The Gorlaeus Building offers a high-tech environment with state of the art research and education facilities. The first phase of the Gorlaeus Building has been completed and it is in use since 2016. We are currently working on the design for the second phase.

Facts and Figures

The Faculty of Science was established in 1815. Late 2020, it was home to 2384 staff members, of whom 156 full professors, 193 assistant & associate professors, 202 postdocs, 654 PhD candidates and 318 guest PhD candidates. The total number of students at the Faculty of Science is 5712, of whom 3445 bachelor's students and 2267 master's students. Regularly, our staff and students receive grants, prizes, and distinctions. 

Fact & figures
Taken from the booklet 'Leiden Science in 2020'

We find it important that our students are successful and graduate nominally. In the academic year 2018-2019, 435 students have graduated for their propedeuse within one year, of whom 79 students cum laude and 10 students summa cum laude. In the year 2019-2020, 719 bachelor's students and 483 master's students received their diploma, of which 23 who also received their Honours College diploma. 

Facts & figures
Taken from the booklet 'Leiden Science in 2020'


Research and education is being conducted at eight institutes. The institutes are Mathematical Institute (MI), Leiden Institute of Advanced Computer Science (LIACS), Leiden ObservatoryLeiden Institute of Physics (LION), Leiden Institute of Chemistry (LIC), Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research (LACDR), Institute of Biology Leiden (IBL), Institute of Environmental Sciences (CML). 

Faculty Board
The Faculty Board is responsible for the general management of the Faculty, as well as the administration and organization of the Faculty's teaching and research. The Faculty Board is supported by the Faculty Office.

  • The Dean is responsible for General Management, Human Resources Management (chair positions), Library Policy and Research Policy. Prof.dr. Paul Wouters is Acting Dean of the Faculty of Science.
  • The Director of Education and Vice Dean of the Faculty of Science is Prof. dr. Bart de Smit.
  • Drs. Dirkje Schinkelshoek is the Director of Operational Management.
  • The Assessor is concerned with student issues. Joost Barendse is the assessor for 2020-2021.


Interdisciplinary teams of scientists work together with partners from the Leiden University Medical Centre (LUMC), the Graduate School of Social Sciences, Delft University of Technology as well as partners from industry and governmental agencies. The location of Leiden Science, in the middle of one of Europe‚Äôs most successful Bioscience Parks, enables close collaboration with life science companies. 

This website uses cookies.  More information.