Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Hall of Fame 2023

In 2023, many of our students and staff won great prizes and secured important research grants. This is our traditional review of these successes as the end of one year marks the beginning of another.

Prizes and grants have been awarded to individual researchers, teachers and students, as well as to teams. Behind every award winner is a team; every award is the result of teamwork. We are proud of these joint successes.

Below is a selection of the most important awards, appointments and achievements of our students and staff. A more detailed overview by faculty can be found on the right-hand side of this page.

European grants

Horizon Europe Grant

EIC Pathfinder Challenge

Amanda Foks, Bram Slütter and Ilze Bot celebrate being awarded an EIC Pathfinder Challenge grant

ERC Synergy Grant

ERC Consolidator Grant

ERC Starting Grant

International prizes

Frontiers Planet Prize

NWO grants and scholarships

National Roadmap for Large-Scale Research Facilities

NWO AI research – ROBUST

NWO KIC grant

  • MicroHealth consortium
  • Boosting Biocontrol with Biodiversity project
  • Increasing above- and belowground biodiversity in arable leek cultivation project

NWO NWA grants



Jason Laffoon in the lab with his colleague Yadiri Chinique de Armas



NWO Open Competitie

Remko Fermin working on his research

National science prizes

Ammodo Science Award

Huibregtsen Prize 2023 

KNAW Early Career Award

  • Alisa van de Haar - Centre for Arts in Society
  • Marleen Kunneman - Medicine/LUMC, Biomedical Data Sciences

Iris Medal

NWO Communication Initiative Award

Communication Initiative award winner 2023: De Grachtwacht

Due to the selected cookie settings, we cannot show this video here.

Watch the video on the original website or

Special university appointments

Appointment as Medical Delta Hoogleraar

  • Douwe Atsma (LUMC, TU Delft)
  • John van den Dobbelsteen (TU Delft, LUMC, Erasmus MC)
  • Johan Frijns (LUMC, TU Delft)
  • Annette van der Helm-van Mil (LUMC, Erasmus MC)
  • Coen Rasch (LUMC, TU Delft)
  • Amir Zadpoor (TU Delft, LUMC)
  • Sanne de Vries (The Hague University of Applied Sciences, LUMC)
A total of six professors were simultaneously inaugurated as ‘Medical Delta Professor’ at Leiden University, the LUMC, TU Delft, Erasmus University and/or Erasmus MC.

Six new members of  Young Academy Leiden

  • Janet Connor - Centre for Linguistics
  • Nienke de Graeff - Medicine/LUMC, Ethics and Law
  • Julie Hall - Institute of Psychology
  • Milena Schönke - Medicine/LUMC, Internal Medicine
  • Anne Urai - Institute of Psychology
  • Jochanan Veerbeek - Institute of Education and Child Studies
  • Sanne Willems - Institute of Psychology

Five new Teaching Fellows appointed

New members of KHMW

  • Jan Willem Erisman - Institute of Environmental Sciences Leiden
  • Ignas Snellen - Leiden Observatory

New members of KNAW

  • Jos Raaijmakers - Institute of Biology Leiden
  • Andrew Webb - Medicine/LUMC, Radiology

Comenius grants

Comenius Senior Fellow grants

  • Max van Lent - Institute of Tax Law and Economics
  • Karin Nijenhuis - African Studies Centre Leiden

Comenius Teaching Fellow grants

Teaching prizes

LUS Teaching Prize

  • Paul Gobée - Medicine/LUMC, Anatomy and Embryology

National Teaching Talents 2023

  • Esther Faasen - ICLON
Outgoing Minister of Education, Culture and Science Robbert Dijkgraaf and Esther Faasen. Photographer: Feike Faase
Tobias Fecker receives the Krijn Rietveld Memorial Innovation Award

On the Dies Natalis on 8 February an honorary doctorate was awarded to:

German Arabist Beatrice Gründler

Beatrice Gründler is presented with her honorary doctorate

In 2023 the following were awarded a royal honour:

  • Frans Osinga, Professor of War Studies
  • Bob Wessels, Emeritus Professor of International Insolvency Law
Prof. Wessels with Wouter Kolff, Mayor of Dordrecht
This website uses cookies.  More information.