Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for the management and administration of the entire University.

Image of the Executive Board of Leiden University
From left to right: Martijn Ridderbos, Hester Bijl, Carel Stolker

The members of the Executive Board are appointed and dismissed by the  Board of Governors.


Rector Magnificus and President

Prof. Carel Stolker
1st term: 8 February 2013 - 7 February 2017
2nd term 8 February 2017 - 7 February 2021

Vice-Rector Magnificus

Prof. Hester Bijl
1st term: 1 November 2016 -  31 October 2020


Martijn Ridderbos
1st term: 8 May 2017 - 7 May 2021

Management philosophy

The academic community determines the content and structure of the teaching and research. Decisions regarding these are made at the lowest possible level: by the departments, institutes and faculties whenever possible, and at University level if this is of demonstrable value or if circumstances so require. This philosophy, which has been so beneficial to our University, is ideally suited to a research university in which researchers are free to determine their own teaching and research agenda.

Personal assistant to the Rector Magnificus/President

The personal assistant works in close collaboration with the secretariat to provide support to the Rector Magnificus (with the exception of diary management).
Ans Kluit


Secretary to the Executive Board

Dr. Carolien Metselaar

Secretaries to individual members of the Executive Board

Carel Stolker, Rector Magnificus and President 
Anna Vuijk-de Haan

Hester Bijl, Vice-Rector Magnificus 
Mariken Overdijk

Martijn Ridderbos, Vice-President
Peggy de Haan

Postal address

PO Box 9500 
2300 RA Leiden

Visiting address

Rapenburg 70 
2311 EZ Leiden

This website uses cookies.  More information.