Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Annetje Ottow

President of the Executive Board

Prof.mr. A.T. Ottow
+31 71 527 3143

Professor Annetje Ottow is President of Leiden University’s Executive Board.

More information about Annetje Ottow

News articles

Annetje Ottow is President of the Executive Board of Leiden University. She is also a professor of Public Economic Law at the Faculty of Law. In the Board, she is responsible for the portfolios of:   

  • Strategy 
  • Valorisation 
  • Alliances, external and international relations 
  • Communication 
  • Alumni policy 
  • Social safety 
  • Diversity and inclusion 
  • Sustainability 

She is also the contact person for the (development of the) Leiden inner city campus.  

Annetje Ottow studied at Leiden University, receiving a Master of Laws (cum laude) in business law, and went on to receive a Master of Laws from Queen Mary College in London in 1990. She then worked in the legal profession for 16 years, first at De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek and later as a partner at Houthoff Buruma. From 2006 to 2013, she was a member of the Board of the Independent Post and Telecommunications Authority (OPTA).  

In 2006, Ottow obtained her PhD from the University of Amsterdam, with a study on regulation of the telecoms sector. In her research, which focuses on regulators and market forces, she combines academic expertise with practical experience.  

In 2007, Ottow was appointed professor of Public Economic Law at Utrecht University. From 2014 to 2018, she was dean of the Faculty of Law, Economics, Governance and Organisation there, and Vice President of the Executive Board from 2018 to 2021.

President of the Executive Board

  • College van Bestuur

Work address

Oude UB
Rapenburg 70
2311 EZ Leiden
Room number A.2.05


Professor Economic Public Law

  • Faculteit Rechtsgeleerdheid
  • Instituut voor Publiekrecht
  • Europees Recht

Work address

Oude UB
Rapenburg 70
2311 EZ Leiden


  • Nederlandse Wetenschappelijk Instituten in het Buitenland (NWIB) Lid Koepelbestuur
  • Stichting Praesidium Libertatis I Lid bestuur
  • Stichting Praesidium Libertatis II Voorzitter bestuur
  • Libertatis Ergo Holding (LEH) Bestuurder van de enig aandeelhouder
  • Stichting Universitair Sportcentrum Universiteit Leiden Lid Raad van Toezicht
  • DPG Media Nederland BV Commissaris
  • Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen Directeur
  • Stichting Leids Universiteitsfonds (LUF) Lid dagelijks bestuur
  • Innovation Quarter (IQ) Namens LEH afvaardiging in aandeelhoudersvergadering
  • Medical Delta Lid Raad van Toezicht
  • Coïmbra Group Rectors’ Advisory Group
  • Economic Board Zuid-Holland Lid
This website uses cookies.  More information.