Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Institute of Biology Leiden

Institute Council

The Institute Council (Instituutsraad - IR) consists of scientists, lecturers, technical support staff and PhD- or MSc-students, all from the IBL. They gather biannually to discuss policies, strategies and other institute matters that may concern any person working or studying at the IBL. These matters may involve for example financial, ICT or website matters, but also practical problems with seminar rooms or laboratory facilities. The aim of the council is participation including a monitoring function and advisory role towards the Management Team and the Educational Office.

The meetings typically take place on a Monday and are open to all, and announced via e-mail. Suggestions, questions or any messages that may be of interest to the IR can be conveyed in person, by phone or e-mail to any representative in the list below. A member of the Management Team attends part of the meetings for cross-communication. The minutes of the council meetings are available on request from the secretary for IBL-employees and students.


Daniel Rozen

Scientist, Microbial Sciences 
Email: d.e.rozen@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 7990

Joost van den Brink

Lecturer, BSc-programme
Email:  j.van.den.brink@biology.leidenuniv.nl 
Phone: +31 (0)71 527 5142

Kees Koops

Education and research staff member
Email: k.koops@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 4714

Julia Cramer

Scientist, Science Communication & Society 
Email: j.cramer@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 2727

Jeroen Hubert

Scientist, Animal Sciences 
Email: j.hubert@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 5045

Helga van der Heul

Education and research staff member 
Email: h.u.van.der.heul@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 2727

Ben Wielstra

Scientist, Animal Sciences 
Email: b.m.wielstra@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 5135

Renée Kapteijn

Scientist, Microbial Sciences 
Email: r.kapteijn@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 4395

Vera van Noort

Professor of Computational Biology 
Email: v.van.noort@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 4759

Jelmer van Lieshout

PhD candidate 
Email: j.van.lieshout@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 4835

Amber Verhaar

Communication Officer
Email: a.m.verhaar@biology.leidenuniv.nl
Phone: + 31 (0)71 527 3509

This website uses cookies.  More information.