Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Leiden University College The Hague

Distinguished Fellows

Distinguished Fellows of Leiden University College The Hague are acknowledged for their extensive and outstanding expertise in the private or public sector, and for their intellectual contributions to LUC’s academic programme and scholarly community.

After having been appreciated members of LUC’s academic staff, they continue to contribute to LUC for example through guest lectures, providing advice to staff and students, and acting as thesis supervisor. In this way, they form a strong bridge between the professional and academic worlds.

Distinguished Fellows at Leiden University College

  • Dan Saxon Distinguished Fellow in International Law

    Dan Saxon was an Assistant Professor of International Justice at Leiden University College from 2013 - 2019.  He taught courses in international criminal law, international humanitarian law and international human rights law, as well as a course called "Impunity: Law, Philosophy and Policy."  Saxon received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Colgate University in 1981, his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of California, Davis School of Law in 1988, his LLM in International Human Rights Law (summa cum laude) from the University of Notre Dame Law School in 1995, and his PhD in Public International Law from Leiden University in 2016. For nearly 30 years, Saxon has investigated and prosecuted serious international crimes.  Saxon was a prosecutor at the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY) for 12 years. He served as a senior prosecutor for the last four years of his tenure and led investigations and prosecutions of persons accused of crimes against humanity and violations of the laws of war.  Saxon was the legal adviser to the United Nations Commission of Inquiry for Syria during 2011 and 2012.   In addition, Saxon has served as a visiting professor teaching international criminal law and international humanitarian law in the law faculties at the University of Cambridge and the University of Utrecht.  He has trained judges, prosecutors and investigators from Colombia, Guatemala, the U.K. Libya and the Former Yugoslavia in the theory and practice of these fields of law and has lectured at numerous academic institutions in Europe and North America.  In addition to his own research and publications, Saxon is a member of the board of academic advisors to the Cambridge Journal of International Law.  Saxon currently serves as the Senior Legal Adviser to an international institution in The Hague.

This website uses cookies.  More information.