Universiteit Leiden

nl en

14th Leiden-Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition 12-14 May 2023

The International Institute of Air and Space Law was delighted to host the 14th edition of the Leiden-Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition – for the first time – in Leiden! After three years of online mooting owing to the pandemic, this year’s competition was held again in person.

This year’s case concerned the use of weapons against civil aircraft, aviation cybersecurity and dual registration of civil aircraft. Prior to the competition, IIASL was delighted to host the International Air Law Conference on Aviation Cybersecurity.

Sixteen teams qualified and ultimately 14 teams travelled to Leiden from around the world to participate in the semi-finals of the competition, which was opened in the Groot Auditorium by Minister Mark Harbers (Infrastructure and Water Management) and Alderman Fleur Spijker (Alderman of the City of Leiden). Over two days, teams delivered four rounds of oral pleadings in the Old Observatory. The finals took place on the 14 May in the Lorentzzaal, between University of Cologne as the applicant and McGill University as the respondent. The final rounds were judged by a distinguished bench: Marc Nichols (Chief Counsel of the US Federal Aviation Administration), Jeffrey Shane (former General Counsel for the International Air Transport Association) and Dr Gérardine Goh Escolar (Deputy Secretary General, Hague Conference on Private Law). After the deliberation of the judges, the team representing McGill University was declared the winner of the competition. Many congratulations to both teams!

Best memorial applicant: University of Cologne

Best memorial respondent: McGill University

Best oral arguments applicant: University of Cologne and McGill University (tie)

Best oral arguments respondent: Leiden University 

The Leiden team was composed of (pictured left-to-right): Haoyue ‘Luna’ Deng (China), Nana Agyeman Abu-Bonsra (Ghana) and Anmol Dhawan (India), all of whom are currently studying the Advanced LL.M. in Air and Space Law. Their coach was Tuvana Aras from the IIASL and Europa Institute. Anmol Dhawan won the best oralist award. Many congratulations to our Leiden team! 

The 14th edition of the Leiden-Sarin International Air Law Moot Court Competition would not have been possible without Professor Steven Truxal, Jin Choi, Natascha Meewisse, Dr Benjamyn Scott and Yuran Shi. A special thanks also goes to the Leiden Law Academy for their outstanding support! Also, many thanks to the author of the case, International Board of Reviewers, judges and our student volunteer timekeepers

Further information see: Home - Air Law Moot Court Competition

This website uses cookies.  More information.