Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Erwin Muller

Dean / Professor Safety, Security and Law / Director Campus The Hague

Prof.mr.dr. E.R. Muller
+31 70 800 9554

Prof. Mr. Erwin Muller is dean of the Faculty of Governance and Global Affairs and professor of Safety, Security and Law at the same faculty. His research focuses on legal and administrative aspects of safety and security.

More information about Erwin Muller

Prof. mr. dr. E.R. (Erwin) Muller (1965) is the current Dean of Leiden University’s Faculty Governance and Global Affairs and administrator of the Campus The Hague. He is also Professor…. At the same university. Apart from his administrative activities he has conducted a significant amount of scientific and practice orientated research as well as teaching on both university as well as applied science level. He also conducts a number of ancillary activities in academics and administration. His research focus areas are: administration, law, governance, politics, science, security and security industry.

He is the head editor of the Kluwerserie Handboeken Veiligheid. So far, 23 scientific and practice oriented handbooks have been published as part of the series. In 2020, the book Instituten van de Staat was published for which he was a co-editor. He is also editor for the now 7th edition of Tekst and Commentaar Openbare Orde en Veiligheid. He is a member of the board of the Tijdschrift Politie and a member of the editorial board of the Tijdschrift voor Veiligheid. A complete overview of his writing and editorial work can be found under Publications.

Muller also conducts a large number of ancillary activities such as, for instance, as member of the board at the Rathenau Institute, chairman of the Advisory Boar Security Delta HSD, member of the Economic Board The Hague, chairman of the Kenniskring van de Commissie van Toezicht betreffende de Inlichtingen- en Veiligheidsdiensten, vice-chairman of the Stichting Maatschappij en Veiligheid en member of the Kwaliteitscommissie Bibob. He is also chairman of the Raad van Toezicht Lucas Onderwijs and of the Raad van Toezicht of the CBR and a member of the Raad van Toezicht van GGZ-Noord-Holland-Noord. A complete overview can be found under Ancillary Activities.

Previously, he has been chairman for the Commissie Evaluatie Wet Veiligheidsregio’s, vice-chairman of the Onderzoeksraad voor Veiligheid, chairman a.i. of the Huis voor Klokkenluiders, scientific director for the Institute of Criminal Law & Crimonology at Leiden University, director of the COT Instituut voor Veiligheids- en Crisismanagement, member of the Raad voor het Openbaar Bestuur, vice-dean of the Law Faculty at Leiden University, director of the Dutch Police Academy and director of the Nederlandse School voor Openbaar Bestuur. He was a Visiting Fellow at the University of Oxford, Centre for Criminology, Law Faculty. He was Secretary of the Consortium of the Seventh EU Framework Project Transnational Terrorism, Security and the Rule of Law, which consisted of Dutch, Danish, Spanish and Czech research institutes. Muller has been a member of various committees such as the Klankbordgroep Parlementaire Enquêtecommissie Financiële Crisis, the Review Board Nationale Politie and the Commissie Evaluatie Wet Inlichtingingen- en Veiligheidsdiensten. He also was Secretary of the Parlementaire Enquêtecommissie Opsporingsmethoden (Commissie van Traa), of the Parlementaire Onderzoekscommissie Evaluatie Opsporingsmethoden (Commissie Kalsbeek) and the Commissie Bestuurlijke Evaluatie AIVD (Commissie Havermans).

You can find a more detailed description on his LinkedInpage

Dean / Professor Safety, Security and Law / Director Campus The Hague

  • Faculty Governance and Global Affairs
  • Faculteitsbestuur

Work address

Turfmarkt 99
2511 DP The Hague
Room number 5.20




  • Raad van Toezicht Lucas Onderwijs voorzitter
  • The Hague Security Delta Voorzitter Raad van Advies
  • Kwaliteitscommissie Bibob Lid
  • Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen Directeur
  • Kenniskring Commissie van Toezicht betreffende de Inlichtingen- en Veiligheidsdiensten Voorzitter
  • Handboeken Veiligheid Kluwer Hoofdredacteur
  • Redactieraad Tijdschrift Veiligheid Lid
  • Bestuur Stichting Tijdschrift voor de Politie Lid
  • Stichting Machiavelli Lid Bestuur
  • TNO Strategische Adviesraad TNO Defence, Safety & Security
  • CBR Voorzitter Raad van Toezicht
  • Adviescommissie voor de Landelijke Eenheid Lid
  • Economic Board The Hague Lid
  • Openbare Orde en Veiligheid Hoofdredacteur Tekst en Commentaar
  • Rathenau Instituut Lid Bestuur
This website uses cookies.  More information.