Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Pharmacologist Elizabeth de Lange receives Honorary Doctorate in Pharmacy from Uppsala University

Professor of Predictive Pharmacology Elizabeth de Lange has received an Honorary Doctorate from the Faculty of Pharmacy of Uppsala University. She will be honoured during the Uppsala Winter Conferment Ceremony on 31 January 2020.

Elizabeth de Lange


De Lange receives the title for her outstanding scientific contributions in the field of pharmacology. She was nominated by professor Margareta Hammarlund-Udenaes, who is Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy. De Lange has already received her Honorary Doctorate, but will be put in the spotlight at the Winter Conferment Ceremony, together with recently graduated PhD candidates and the sixteen other Honorary Doctors. During the ceremony, De Lange will receive all three symbols of honour: a hat or laurel wreath, a diploma, and a ring. In addition, she will hold a lecture about her field of expertise.

Internationally renowned expert

Lange counts as an internationally recognised expert in predictive physiologically-based pharmacokinetic and pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic models, in which she makes use of highly advanced in vivo experiments (for example microdialysis in the brain), analytical techniques, and mathematical and computational approaches. This is an exceptional combination of expertise, which makes her wanted as a research partner as well as a consultant amongst various pharmaceutical companies. In 2013, De Lange received the prestigious AAPS Fellow Award from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, the largest organisation in her field.    

Other Leiden Honorary Doctors in Uppsala

Previous Leiden Honorary Doctors of the Faculty of Pharmacy are Douwe Breimer in 1992 and Rob Verpoorte in 2012. Breimer currently is professor emeritus Pharmacology and was the Rector Magnificus of Leiden University from 2001 until 2007. Verpoorte is professor emeritus of Pharmacognosy, in particular plant cell biotechnology.

This website uses cookies.  More information.