Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Public Administration (MSc)

Programme structure

Students following this programme can choose between three specialisations: 'Economics and Governance', 'International and European Governance' and 'Public Management and Leadership'. The programme consists of core courses, specialisation courses, an electives, and a master's thesis.


The core courses ensure that students master the most important theoretical and analytical approaches in the analysis of institutions and policy processes, as well as essential analytical and research skills. Specialisation courses allow students to learn more about the problems and state-of-the art research within the context of each of the three specialisations, culminating in an independently conducted master thesis project.

Curriculum division

  • Each student of Public Administration takes two substantive core courses: Public Institutions, and Public Policy and Values (10 ECTS).
  • Besides the core courses, each student takes the skills-oriented course Research Design (5 ECTS).

  • In addition, students take four substantive specialisation courses (20 ECTS) and one elective (5 ECTS).

  • Students conduct original research on a topic of their choice within their specialisation and present their results in a master's thesis (20 ECTS).

This website uses cookies. More information.