Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Piet Hein van der Graaf

Professor of Systems pharmacology

Prof.dr. P.H. van der Graaf
+31 71 527 6211

Piet van der Graaf was appointed as Professor of Systems Pharmacology in 2012. He is also Vice President and Head of Quantitative Systems Pharmacology (QSP) at Certara.

More information about Piet Hein van der Graaf

Between 2013-2016, he was the Director of Research of the Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research (LACDR).

From 1999 – 2013 he held various leadership positions at Pfizer in Sandwich (United Kingdom) in Discovery Biology (Head of Sexual Health Therapeutic Area), Pharmacokinetics and Drug Metabolism (Head of Translational Quantitative Pharmacology) and Clinical Pharmacology/Pharmacometrics. He was involved in a large number of drug discovery and development programs in multiple therapeutic areas and responsible for the nomination of more than 10 clinical development candidates.  He holds several patents in the field of target discovery.

Between 1990-1994 he received his doctorate training in quantitative receptor pharmacology with Nobel laureate Sir James Black at King's College London and thereafter worked as a postdoctoral fellow of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences at Leiden University on the development of mechanism-based pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic (PKPD) approaches. 

He is founding Editor-in-Chief of CPT: Pharmacometrics & Systems Pharmacology, responsible for the successful launch of this new Open Access journal.

Piet is Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society, has (co-)authored more than 100 papers and book chapters in the area of quantitative and translational pharmacology and has given more than 100 lectures at international symposia and workshops. 

Piet is currently also member of the Expert Review Panel of the Singapore Biomedical Council Asset Review (A*STAR) and member of the Leo Foundation Nomination Committee.








Professor of Systems pharmacology

  • Science
  • Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research
  • LACDR/Pharmacology

Work address

Einsteinweg 55
2333 CC Leiden
Room number 02.09


  • LEO Foundation Member Nomination Committee
  • Certara Vice President
  • Minerva Scholarship Fund Leiden Raad van Toewijzing
  • KNMP Programmacommissie Wetenschappelijke Bijeenkomsten
  • Stichting Galenusprijs Jury Galenusprijzen
  • Treeway Member Scientific Advisory Board
  • LUMC Jury Prof. S.E. De Jongh Prijs
  • American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics Strategic Planning Taskforce
  • Centre for Human Drug Research (CHDR), Leiden Voorzitter Scientific Advisory Board
  • Virtual Liver Network, Germany Scientific Advisory Board
  • American Society for Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics Editor-in-Chief
  • Saltwood Consultants & Xenologiq Consultancy
This website uses cookies.  More information.