Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Mathematical Institute


The Mathematical Institute has a light management structure. Tasks are spread over the staff. Important decisions are taken by consensus.

Scientific Director

Programme directors

Institute Manager

Educational Manager

  • L.C. van Kempen-Helmsing, BSc.


Science Committee

  • Prof. dr. P. Stevenhagen
  • Prof. dr. A. Doelman
  • Prof. dr. S.J. Edixhoven
  • Prof. dr. R.D. Gill
  • Prof. dr. W.Th.F. den Hollander
  • Prof. dr. A.W. van der Vaart
  • Prof. dr. J.J. Meulman

Study Advisors

Examination Committees

Educational Committees

  • mathematics (Chair: Dr. V. Rottschäfer)
  • statistical science (Chair: Prof.dr. J.J. Goeman)

Study Information and Public Relations Committee

  • Dr. R.S. de Jong
  • Dr. T.C. Streng

Library Committee

  • Dr. M.F.E. de Jeu (Chair)
  • Dr. A.J. Schmidt-Hieber
  • Prof.dr. S.J. Edixhoven

Institute Council

  • Dr. M. Streng, Chairman
  • Dr. V. Rottschäfer
  • Dr. H. Finkelnberg
  • S. van der Pas, MSc MA
  • H. Otten