Universiteit Leiden

nl en


LCCP Symposium Critical Phenomenologies

Thursday 30 March 2023 - Friday 31 March 2023
LCCP work in progress and research seminar 2022 - 2023
Cleveringaplaats 1
2311 BD Leiden
2.11 and 1.47

'Critical Phenomenologies. Inequity, experience, and the human.'

This symposium is  organised by Leiden Centre for Continental Philosophy (LCCP).

This symposium is funded by Leiden University Fund, Van Haersolte Fund, the Institute for Philosophy Leiden University, and the Dutch Research School for Philosophy OZSW.

Also on zoom: https://universiteitleiden.zoom.us/j/66443031373?pwd=YnRRbHJwbXREVFdUSlh5dTdSaW02UT09
Meeting ID: 664 4303 1373
Passcode: f0gsQ!pN

“Critical phenomenology is increasingly becoming an important site for the interdisciplinary dialogue between philosophy, feminist theory, critical race theory and queer theory, decolonial and indigenous thought, and disability studies. With the ‘critical turn’ in phenomenology, the ambition to disclose the structuring conditions of lived experience in phenomenological descriptions is explicitly framed as a reflexive and potentially transformative inquiry into how power relations are inscribed in the fabric of social life and in the embodiment of subjectivity. To probe the potentials of this emerging field, this two-day symposium will bring together a group of specialists who, in distinct ways, work on how embodied difference situates a person in the social world. Oriented by a focus on embodied differences such as gender, race, age, and sexuality, the aim is to provide an occasion for exploring how structural and institutional inequities become internalized and how are they are expressed within personal biases and perceptual habits.”

The program for this symposium can be found in the column to your right.

Registration: Hans-Georg Eilenberger at H.G.Eilenberger@tilburguniversity.edu


Alia Al-Saji (McGill University, Canada)

Sara Heinämaa (University of Jyväskylä, Finland)

Marieke Borren (Open University, The Netherlands)

Julia Jansen (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Annabelle Dufourcq (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

Ruben Hordijk (Linköping University, Sweden)

Tristan Hedges (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

Sarah Bloem (Linköping University, Sweden)

Hans-Georg Eilenberger (Tilburg University, The Netherlands)

Jingjing Li (Leiden University, The Netherlands)

Marie Louise Krogh (Leiden University, The Netherlands)

Annemie Halsema (Leiden University and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

This website uses cookies.  More information.