Universiteit Leiden

nl en
Physics - Faculty of Science - Leiden University

Research in Physics, theoretical (MSc)

About the programme

The master’s specialisation Theoretical Physics consists of 120 European Credit Transfer System (EC) points and includes electives (60 EC) and two research programmes (30 EC each).

Programme overview

The research  specialisations Theoretical Physics consist of two components: courses and research. The programme consists of:

  • Mandatory courses (30 EC)
  • Electives (42 EC EC)
  • Research projects (48 EC)

At the start of the Master’s programme, students are required to create a study plan: this plan includes a complete list of planned courses and projects for two subsequent academic years in consultation with the Study Advisor Physics.

Read more about the programme outline and courses

Educational methods

  • Lectures
  • Working groups
  • Presentations
  • Individual papers
  • Colloquium
  • Lab work
  • Literature study

Study guidance

The Physics MSc programme has a small intake and a relatively large staff to student ratio. It can thus afford to provide students with individualized attention. The study programme is discussed and decided with the Study Advisor who remains a reference point throughout the programme. Interaction during classes is informal and strongly encouraged. Besides direct interaction with the lecturer, classes are supported by PhD students and often post-docs. Interaction during the research project(s) is direct and informal and takes place within a small group of which an MSc student is integral part. There are regular group meetings. Interaction often extends outside office hours and incorporates social events.

This website uses cookies. More information.