Universiteit Leiden

nl en
Physics - Faculty of Science - Leiden University

Research in Physics, Cosmology (MSc)

About the programme

The Physics and Cosmology specialisation consists of 120 European Credit Transfer System (EC) points and consists of mandatory courses (33 EC), electives (27 EC) and two research projects (60 EC in total).

Programme overview

At the start of the Master’s programme, you are required to draw up the Master Study Plan: a complete list of planned courses and projects for two subsequent academic years in consultation with the Study Advisor Physics. The curriculum of this master’s specialisation consists of:

  • Courses (60 EC)
  • Mandatory (33 EC)
  • Electives (27 EC)
  • Research (60 EC)
  • First research project (30 EC)
  • Master’s project in Cosmology (30 EC)

Detailed programmes may differ slightly, depending on whether you are enrolled in the Physics or Astronomy Master’s programmes, but will in all cases include a common core curriculum of Cosmology courses.

Educational methods

  • Colloquium
  • Lectures
  • Individual papers
  • Lab work
  • Presentations
  • Research
  • Projects
  • Seminars
  • Work group

Study guidance

The Physics MSc programme has a small intake and a relatively large staff to student ratio. It can thus afford to provide students with individualized attention. The study programme is discussed and decided with the Study Advisor who remains a reference point throughout the programme. Interaction during classes is informal and strongly encouraged. Besides direct interaction with the lecturer, classes are supported by PhD students and often post-docs. Interaction during the research project(s) is direct and informal and takes place within a small group of which an MSc student is integral part. There are regular group meetings. Interaction often extends outside office hours and incorporates social events.

This website uses cookies. More information.