Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Ton Koopman

Professor emeritus of Historically Informed Performance of Early Music

Prof.dr. A.G.M. Koopman
+31 71 527 1480

Ton Koopman is a Professor emeritus of Historically Informed Performance of Early Music at the Academy of Creative and Performing Arts.

More information about Ton Koopman

About Prof. dr. h.c. Ton Koopman

Ton Koopman was born in Zwolle in 1944. After a classical education he studied organ, harpsichord and musicology in Amsterdam and was awarded the Prix d'Excellence for both instruments. From the beginning of his musical studies he was fascinated by authentic instruments and a performance style based on sound scholarship and in 1969, at the age of 25, he created his first Baroque orchestra. In 1979 he founded the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra followed by the Amsterdam Baroque Choir in 1992.

Koopman's extensive and impressive activities as a soloist, accompanist and conductor have been recorded on a large number of LPs and CDs for labels like Erato, Teldec, Sony, Philips and DG, besides his own record label “Antoine Marchand”, distributed by Challenge Records.

Over the course of a forty-five-year career Ton Koopman has appeared in the most important concert halls and festivals of the five continents. As an organist he has performed on the most prestigious historical instruments of Europe, and as a harpsichord player and conductor of the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra & Choir he has been a regular guest at venues which include the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Théatre des Champs-Elysées in Paris, the Philharmonie in Munich, the Alte Oper in Frankfurt, the Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall in New York and leading concert halls in Vienna, London, Berlin, Brussels, Madrid, Rome, Salzburg, Tokyo and Osaka.


Professor emeritus of Historically Informed Performance of Early Music

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Academie der Kunsten

Work address

P.J. Veth
Nonnensteeg 1-3
2311 VJ Leiden


  • Koopman A.G.M. (2017), Kerstspel (Nieuw Vocaal Amsterdam & Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra o.l.v. Ton Koopman, verteld door Dieuwertje Blok). CD: Challenge Classics. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (9 December 2016), Bach en zijn zangers [Huizingalezing 2016]. Universiteit Leiden, Amsterdam. [lecture].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2016), Did Bach and Handel ever meet?. In: , Göttinger Händel-Beiträge Band XVII, Jahrbuch 2016. Göttingen: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht. 111-121.
  • Koopman A.G.M., Arias Fernandez Y. & Mertens K. (2016), Georg Friedrich Händel, ‘Tu fedel? Tu costante? HWV 171a and other Italian cantatas: Challenge Classics CC72265. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2015), Buxtehude, Pachelbel, Sweelinck, Walther, Homilius, J.S. Bach. CD. Lengefeld in the Erzgebirge: Challenge Classics CC72264. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2015), Johann Gottfried Walther (1684-1748) – ein wichtiges und zuverlässiges Glied in der Überlieferung der Tastenmusik von Dieterich Buxtehude. In: Schneider M. & Heering J. (Eds.), Buxtehude-Studien. Bonn: J. Butz. 13-37.
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2015), J.S. Bach, Constantin Emanuel sings from Schemellis Gesangbuch. CD: Challenge Classics CC72263. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2014), ‘"A very necessary and useful science": Thoughts on basso continuo playing in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. In: Peeters P. (Ed.), The Haarlem Essays. Celebrating Fifty International Organ Festivals. Bonn 365-382.
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2014), C.P.E. Bach, 6 Organ Sonatas. CD. Berlin: Challenge Classics CC72260. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2014), Dieterich Buxtehude Opera Omnia XIX, Vocal Works 9: Concertos, arias and cantatas. CD: Challenge Classics CC72258. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2014), Dieterich Buxtehude Opera Omnia XX, Vocal Works 10: Sacres concertos, arias and cantatas (2CD). CD: Challenge Classics CC72259. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2013), Dieterich Buxtehude Opera Omnia XVIII, Vocal Works 8: Sacred concertos, arias and miscellaneous pieces (2CD). CD: Challenge Classics CC72257. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2013), Dieterich Buxtehude Opera Omnia XVII, Vocal Works 7: Arias, chorale settings, sacred concertos (2CD). CD: Challenge Classics CC72256. [audio].
  • Manson C. & Koopman A.G.M. (2012), J.S. Bach, 6 Sonatas for harpsichord and violin BWV 1014-1019. CD: Challenge Classics CC72560. [audio].
  • Koopman A.G.M. (2012), J.S. Bach, Six Partitas for harpsichord (Clavier Übung I) BWV 825-830. CD: Challenge Classics CC72574. [audio].

No relevant ancillary activities

This website uses cookies.  More information.