Universiteit Leiden

nl en


The Powers That Be

The Department of Constitutional and Administrative Law of Leiden University has published a collection of research essays on the separation of powers. This collection addresses the main question of whether the historically developed combination of concepts of democratic legitimacy and the separation of powers remains viable outside a traditional state context, and if so, in what form.

Wim Voermans and Hans-Martien ten Napel
08 March 2016

The book is a response to Christoph Möllers’ monograph 'The Three Branches. A Comparative Model of Separation of Powers', which was published in 2013.

The collection has been edited by Professor Wim Voermans and Associate Professor Hans-Martien Ten Napel and is now available as 'The Powers That Be: Rethinking the Separation of Powers'. It forms the culmination of years of research on this topic by staff at the Department of Constitutional and Administrative Law. The project was initiated by the national conference on Constitutional Law in 2012.  

This website uses cookies.  More information.