Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Wessel Kraaij jointly wins the Mark Everingham prize for TRECVid

The 2018 IEEE Computer Society PAMI Mark Everingham Prize has been awarded jointly to Wessel Kraaij, Alan Smeaton, Paul Over and George Awad for the “TRECVid Video Retrieval Evaluation 2003-2018”.

Large scale Video Retrieval

On 12th September 2018 the prize was presented at the biennial European Conference on Computer Vision (ECCV) in Munich, Germany. Prof. Andrew Zisserman, chair of the Awards Committee, commented that this award is given “for a series of datasets and workshops that since 2003 have driven progress in large scale Video Retrieval.”

Significant impact on computer vision research

The TREC Video Retrieval Evaluation (TRECVid) is a worldwide benchmarking activity to encourage research in video information retrieval by providing a large test collection, uniform scoring procedures, and a forum for organisations interested in comparing their results. In the past 15 years almost 63 research organisations, universities and other consortia were involved by TRECVid. Interactive as well as automatic and manual, TRECVid detected and benchmarked video shots, semantic features, shot boundary and events and instances.  Its impact on computer vision research has been significant, involving from about 200 to 400 researchers annually and producing more than 2,700  research papers derived from TRECVid’s data.

TRECVid research team

Alan Smeaton from Dublin City University and Wessel Kraaij from Leiden University have been TRECVid’s scientific coordinators since 2003, and Paul Over (now retired) and George Awad have managed the project from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in the US.

The late Mark Everingham

This Prize is to commemorate Mark Everingham and to encourage others to follow in his footsteps. The prize is given to a researcher, or a team of researchers, who have made a selfless and significant contribution to other members of the computer vision community. The award is given out by the IEEE Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (PAMI) Technical Committee. Previous Mark Everingham Prize recipients include the teams behind OpenCV, Imagenet, Caffe and ICVSS.

This website uses cookies.  More information.