Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Jan Reedijk

Professor emeritus of Chemistry

Prof.dr. J. Reedijk
+31 71 527 4459


More information about Jan Reedijk

Personal data

Born: August 3, 1943; Westmaas; The Netherlands


Leiden University, The Netherlands
1964: BSc in chemistry
1966: MSc in inorganic chemistry (cum laude)
1968: PhD in chemistry (cum laude); Thesis: "Methyl cyanide as a ligand";
Thesis advisor: Dr. W.L. Groeneveld; Thesis supervisor: Dr. E.W. Gorter


Leiden University
1964-1966: junior instructor inorganic chemistry
1966-1968: instructor inorganic chemistry
1968-1972: postdoctoral instructor coordination chemistry
1979-2009: professor of chemistry
2009-2013: part-time professor of chemistry
2013-present: emeritus professor of chemistry

Delft University of Technology
January 1, 1973-November 1, 1979: "Lector" (Reader) in inorganic and physical chemistry
Cambridge University: fall semester 1993: visiting professor
Université Louvain la Neuve: spring semester 2002: visiting professor
Strasbourg, Université Louis Pasteur: academic year 2004-2005: visiting professor
Münster, Westfalische Wilhelms Universität: spring 2009: visiting professor
Riyadh, King Saud University: 2009-2015: part-time honorary professor
Milan, University of Milan: spring semester 2010: visiting professor
Dunedin, University of Otago, spring semester 2011: visiting professor
Torun, Copernicus University, spring semester 2012: visiting professor

Selection of major honors

  • Max Planck Research Award Bioinorganic Chemistry, Bonn (1992)
  • Honorary Chakravorty Award, India (2010) 
  • Elected member Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (1996)
  • Elected member Finnish Academy of Sciences (1997)
  • Elected Honorary Member Royal Netherlands Chemical Society (2003)
  • Elected member Academia Europaea (2004)
  • Knighted by the Queen; Order of the Dutch Lion (2008)
  • Doctorate honoris causa, Nicolaus Copernicus University, Torun, Poland (2023)


(1965-present): over 1200 research publications in refereed journals, patents & books.
Full publication list at ResearcherID


(2023): 96

Supervised students 

(1973-2010): over 250 MSc; 90 PhD; over 100 postdocs

Research interests

  • Coordination chemistry of transition-metal ions
  • Bioinorganic chemistry (active-site structure and mechanism; models for metalloproteins; metal-DNA interactions)
  • Applications of coordination chemistry in catalysis, medicine, ion-exchange, surface chemistry
  • Extended (magnetic and electric) interactions in coordination compounds and magnetic materials (dimers, clusters, chains)
  • Molecular recognition and intermolecular interactions (catalysis; biomacromolecules)

Major editorial board services

  • Journal of the Chemical Society, Dalton Transactions (1989-1997)
  • Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry (1991-2021)
  • Advances in Inorganic Chemistry (1987-present)
  • Comments on Inorganic Chemistry (1987-present)
  • Russian Journal of Coordination Chemistry (1999-2014)
  • New Journal of Chemistry (Nouveau Journal de Chimie) (1989-2011)
  • Journal of the Chemical Society, Chemical Communications (1993-1997)
  • Topics in Biological Inorganic Chemistry (1996-2014)
  • Journal of Biological Inorganic Chemistry (1995-2000)
  • Polyhedron (1998-2011);
  • Pure and Applied Chemistry (2010-2021)
  • Inorganic Chemistry (1997-1999)
  • Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry (Series Editor, 2009-2013; 2019-2023)
  • European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry (Founding Editor; 1998-2008)
  • Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering; (Series Editor; 2012-2018)

Major professional activities and recognitions

  • Membership of IUPAC committees (selection only):
    • Inorganic Chemistry Nomenclature (CNIC; 1977-1987); (Division VIII: 2009-2011)
    • Inorganic Chemistry Division Titular Member (since 2006); Vice-president (2010-2013); President (2014-2018); Past president (2018-2020)
    • IUPAC and 5 other scientific unions: Chair of the Management Committee for
      the International Year of the Periodic Table Celebrations in 2019 (2018-2020)
  • Scientific Director Leiden Institute of Chemistry (1993-1998); Scientific and Managing Director Leiden Institute of Chemistry (1998-2005)
  • Executive Secretary of the International Coordination Chemistry Conferences (1988-2012)
  • Chairman Organizing Committee 3rd International Conference on Bioinorganic Chemistry (1987)
  • Member International Organizing Committee EURASIA conferences of Chemistry (1990-2000); chairman (1994-1996)
  • Member of the International Organizing Committee of the International Symposium on Macromolecule Metal Complexes (1993-2005); chairman (1995-1997)
  • Gordon Research Conferences: Chairman "Metals in Medicine" (2010)
  • Board Member International Conferences on Bioinorganic Chemistry (1985-present)
  • Board Member European Conferences on Bioinorganic Chemistry (1992-2002)
  • Board Member International Symposium on Applied Bioinorganic Chemistry (1992-2014)
  • Council Member Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry (1999-2005)
  • Member International Advisory Board of the European Inorganic Chemistry Seminars (1986-1988; 2002-2009)
  • National Representative Committee of Chemistry of COST (1990-1996; 2005-2016)
  • Max Planck Society:  Fachbeirat MPI für Bioanorganische Chemie, Mülheim (1995-2011)
  • Royal Netherlands Chemical Society (selection of duties and honors):
    • president 1990 (president-elect in 1989); chairman and member of several committees
    • chairman committee of inorganic chemistry nomenclature (1979-present)
    • IUPAC Council representative for the Netherlands; (1989-1995; 2005-2023)
    • Elected Honorary Member (2003)
  • Netherlands Organization for Advancement of Research (NWO):
    • Board member of committee of physical sciences (1978-1985)
    • Executive Committee, Netherlands Foundation for Chemical Research (1997-2003)

Professor emeritus of Chemistry

  • Science
  • Leiden Institute of Chemistry
  • LIC/Energy & Sustainability
  • LIC/ES/Metal in Cat. Biom. & Inorg. Mat.

Work address

Gorlaeus Building
Einsteinweg 55
2333 CC Leiden
Room number EE317




  • Consultancy Jan Reedijk Directeur
  • -
This website uses cookies.  More information.