Universiteit Leiden

nl en

University of Copenhagen and Trinity College Dublin join LERU

The University of Copenhagen and Trinity College Dublin will become members of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) with effect from 1 January 2017. The LERU, of which Leiden University is one of the founders, aims to promote the interests of scientific research and teaching.

Influencing agendas 

The accession of these new members brings LERU to 23 participating universities in twelve European countries. The league focuses primarily on the EU. Another of its key aims is to allow members to learn from one another, for example by exchanging best practices within the LERU network. The participating universities are then in a better position to apply European data and experiences to influence national research and education agendas. 

Quantitative and qualitative criteria

Membership of LERU is only possible by invitation and provided the prospective member complies with a broad set of quantative and qualitative criteris. These relate to size, research volume, impact, financing, education and training of PhD candidataes, the breadth of the teaching and research field and peer-assessed academic excellence. The study is carried out by the Leiden Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS). Only a limited number of institutions per country may become members of LERU. 

Strategic considerations

The admission of the two new universities was the result of a process where strategic considerations played a role. Professor Bert van der Zwaan, Rector Magnificus of Utrecht University and current chair of LERU: 'LERU has to remain a small network of research-intensive universities in which an active role and personal relations are key; these are the elements that have led to LERU's success formula.'


Members of LERU

The present members of LERU are: University of Amsterdam, Universitat de Barcelona, University of Cambridge, University of Edinburgh, University of Freiburg, Université de Genève, Universität Heidelberg, University of Helsinki, Universiteit Leiden, KU Leuven, Imperial College London, University College London, Lund University, University of Milan, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, University of Oxford, Pierre & Marie Curie University, Université Paris-Sud, University of Strasbourg, Utrecht University, University of Zurich.

This website uses cookies.  More information.