Universiteit Leiden

nl en


Kroese-Duijsters Symposium 2023: Reaction mechanisms in heterogeneous, inorganic and biological electro(photo)catalysis

  • Christophe Léger (CNRS, Marseille, France)
  • Ross Milton (Université de Genève, Switzerland)
  • Carla Casadevall (ICIQ, Tarragona, Spain)
  • Antoni Llobet (ICIQ, Tarragona, Spain)
  • Licheng Sun (Westlake University, China and KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden)
  • Ryuhei Nakamura (Riken, Tokyo, Japan)
  • Pouya Hosseini (Ruhr Universität, Bochum, Germany)
Monday 19 June 2023
Academy Building
Rapenburg 73
2311 GJ Leiden
Telders Auditorium

The Kroese-Duijsters Symposia aim to provide researchers from different fields and different career stages to meet in an informal setting, to stimulate discussions and to start new collaborations. The Kroese-Duijsters Symposia started in 2022 and we are pleased to invite you to the 2nd Kroese-Duijsters Symposium on 19 June 2023 at University Leiden.

The theme of the seocnd edition of the symposium series is:

“Reaction mechanisms in heterogeneous, inorganic and biological electro(photo)catalysis”

A transition to a sustainable and renewable energy economy is urgently required and electro(photo)catalysis will make a key contribution. Heterogeneous, inorganic and biological catalysts each display important advantages, but also come with challenges. In spite of the complexity of these vastly different electrocatalytic systems, there is a tantalising prospect that these disciplines can complement each other.
In this one-day symposium, electrochemist from the different disciplines are brought together to present and discuss the latest progress, with a special emphasis on challenges that remain in terms of selectivity, rate limiting steps and our understanding of reaction mechanisms in water splitting, oxygen reduction and hydrogen evolution.

7 invited lectures will be given by: 
Christophe Léger (CNRS, Marseille, France)
Ross Milton (Université de Genève, Switzerland)
Carla Casadevall (ICIQ, Tarragona, Spain)
Antoni Llobet (ICIQ, Tarragona,  Spain)
Licheng Sun (Westlake University, China and KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden)
Ryuhei Nakamura (Riken, Tokyo, Japan)
Kristina Tschulik (Ruhr Universität, Bochum, Germany)

The symposium will be held in the city centre of Leiden, Academy Building and Telders Auditorium.

Info & Programme

This website uses cookies.  More information.