Universiteit Leiden

nl en

2019 Dutch Qualifying Round - The Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

On 29 and 30 January, The Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies hosted the Dutch Qualifying Round of the 2019 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

Jessup is the world's largest moot court competition, with participants from over 680 law schools in 100 countries and jurisdictions. The Competition is a simulation of a fictional dispute between countries before the International Court of Justice, the judicial organ of the United Nations. One team is allowed to participate from every eligible school. Teams prepare oral and written pleadings arguing both the applicant and respondent positions of the case. The White & Case International Rounds of the Jessup Competition is the culminating event of the Jessup Season. Held each spring in Washington, D.C., the White & Case International Rounds are both an educational experience and cultural extravaganza. The week-long schedule of events is filled with competitive matches, interesting panel discussions, and festive social events. The 2019 International Rounds will take place from 31 March to 6 April.

In this year’s Dutch Qualifying Round, the University of Amsterdam, Maastricht University, Utrecht University, and Leiden University presented their arguments on behalf of The State of Aurok as the Applicant and on behalf of The Republic of Rakkab as the Respondent in the Case Concerning the Kayleff Yak. After two days of pleadings, Leiden University won the final round against Utrecht University and will travel to Washington, D.C. to represent the Netherlands. Other awards were taken home by:

Silke Zwijsen (Utrecht University) - Best Oralist
Huang Doudou (Leiden University) - Runner-up Best Oralist
Haotian Tan (Utrecht University) - 2nd Runner-up Best Oralist

Maastricht University - 1st place Team Memorials
Utrecht University - 2nd place Team Memorials
University of Amsterdam - 3rd place Team Memorials

The Grotius Centre is grateful for the involvement of the following professionals in the written and/or oral round: Gil Anthony Aquino, Judge David Baragwanath, Beata Bolyova, Matthew Cross, Zuzana Drexlerova, Soheila Ebrahimi Louyeh, Carolyn Edgerton, Iain Edwards, Constantin Eschlbock, Karim Eshragh, Matthew Gillett, Cristina Hoss, Ana Jabauri, Abir Kobayter, Pawan Kumar, Christopher Lentz, Daniel Litwin, Camilla Macpherson, Ali Masoud, Panos Merkouris, Simon Minks, Talbiha Munir, Annie O'Reilly, Raphael Pangalangan, Adam Marios Paschalidis, Raluca Racasan, Jasmine Rayée, Sophie Schiettekatte, Muhammad Sohail, Pieter Tubbergen, Kübra Ünal, Jan-Paul van Barneveld, Vivian van der Kuil, Thea Elyssa Vega, Valentina Wagner, Ingo Wamser, Lori Ann Wanlin, and Sebastian Wuschka.

The Memorial and Oral Round Judges acted in their personal capacity.

This website uses cookies.  More information.