Leiden University logo.

nl en

Participating institutions

Eight universities in the Netherlands and Flanders participate in the NVIC.

The NVIC is supported by the following institutions:

In the Netherlands: 

In Flanders: 

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the NVIC mostly consists of members of the Executive Boards of the participating institutions: 

  • Prof. Dr. Carel J.J.M. Stolker, Rector, President, Leiden University 
  • Prof. Dr. Geert T.M. ten Dam, President, University of Amsterdam 
  • Prof. Dr. Cisca Wijmenga, Rector, University of Groningen 
  • Prof. Dr. Daniël Wigboldus, President, Radboud University, Nijmegen 
  • Prof. Dr. Anton Pijpers, President, University of Utrecht
  • Prof. Dr. Vinod Subramaniam, Rector, Free University, Amsterdam
  • Prof. Dr. Luc Sels, Rector, University of Leuven
  • Prof. Dr. Rik Van de Walle, Rector, Ghent University

The Dutch Ministries of Foreign Affairs and Education, Culture and Sciences and The Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO) are represented in the Board by observers at Board meetings.

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council consists of specialists in the fields of Arabic studies and Egyptology, representing the participating institutions: 

  • Prof. Dr. Olaf E. Kaper (chair), Leiden University 
  • Prof. Dr. Petra M. Sijpesteijn, Leiden University 
  • Dr. Kiki M. Santing, University of Groningen 
  • Dr. Nico Landman, Utrecht University  
  • Dr. Liesbeth Zack, University of Amsterdam 
  • Prof. Dr. Harco O. Willems, University of Leuven  
  • Prof. Dr. Jo van Steenbergen, Ghent University 
  • Prof. Dr. Amr Ryad, KU Leuven
  • Prof. Dr. Nico Kaptein, Leiden University
  • Drs. Hung-Wah Lam, Leiden University, International Office


The Administrator of the NVIC is Drs. John A. Kroes

This website uses cookies.