Leiden University logo.

nl en

C.J. Kok Jury Award

Who wrote the best dissertation of the Faculty of Science in the last year? An expert jury compares eight dissertations from disciplines ranging from mathematics to environmental science, to hand-pick the winner of the C.J. Kok Jury Award.

C.J. Kok Fund

The Faculty of Science grants two C.J. Kok Awards each year: the C.J. Kok Jury Award for the best PhD thesis and the C.J. Kok Public Award. All institutes within the Faculty are given the opportunity to nominate a candidate for both awards.

The C.J. Kok fund was raised from the assets of Mr. C.J. Kok, a biology tutor from The Hague, who was strongly committed to the natural sciences. Upon his death in 1965 he left his entire estate to Leiden University. The C.J. Kok fund was established with this inheritance. In his will, Mr. Kok stated that both the Faculty of Science and the Leiden University Medical Center would annually be given the opportunity to use the fund’s revenues to award outstanding performance to those demonstrating ‘a pronounced, significant talent for mathematics or solving medical problems’. The will also states that the assessment of performance should be on purely scientific grounds and that no distinction should be made regarding ‘rank, status, race, national character, origin, relationship and so on’.

The C.J. Kok Jury award consists of 2,500 euros and has been granted ever since 1971. Read about some of the illustrious winners, many of whom still belong to the top of their fields today.

This website uses cookies.