Leiden University logo.

nl en

Yearly Awards

The Faculty of Science grants two C.J. Kok awards each year: the C.J. Kok Public Award, also known as the award for the ‘Discoverer of the Year’, and the C.J. Kok Jury Award, the award for the best PhD thesis from the past year. All institutes within the faculty are given the opportunity to nominate candidates for both awards.

C.J. Kok Fund

The C.J. Kok fund was raised from the assets of Mr C.J. Kok, biology tutor from The Hague, who was strongly committed to the natural sciences. Upon his death in 1965 he left his entire estate to Leiden University. The C.J. Kok fund was established with this inheritance. In his will Mr Kok stated that both the Faculty of Science and the Leiden University Medical Center would annually be given the opportunity to use the fund’s revenues to award outstanding performance to those demonstrating ‘a pronounced, significant talent for mathematics or solving medical problems’. The will also states that the assessment of performance should be on purely scientific grounds and that no distinction should be made regarding ‘rank, status, race, national character, origin, relationship and so on’.

This website uses cookies. Read more