Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Computer Science

Pascal chair

The Leiden Institute of Advanced Computer Science (LIACS) of Leiden University proudly establishes the Blaise Pascal chair. The chair applies for one year and is meant to strengthen the cooperation of the Leiden computer science research with foreign institutes.

Pascal professor 2017 Heike Trautmann


Heike Trautmann (2017)

University of Münster, Germany

Information systems and statistics

Natasha Jonoska (2015)

University of South Florida, Tampa, USA

Theoretical computer science and natural computing

Lecture: ‘Computation by molecular self-assembly’


Kyle A. Gallivan (2012)

Department of Mathematics, Florida State University, USA

Algorithms for large scale systems and computations

Lecture: ‘An Introduction to Methods for Optimization Problems on Riemannian Manifolds’


M. Koutny (2011)

School of Computing, Newcastle, UK


Lecture: ‘Enhancing Petri Nets to Model Biological Processes’


Nada Lavrac (2010)

Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia


D. De Groot


Hardware design


X. Liu

Brunel, UK



Lothar Thiele (2005)


Embedded systems


Constantine Polychronopoulos (2000)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


T. Head (1998 first Blaise Pascal Professor)


Algebra and DNA computing


George Cybenko (1996 Kloosterman)

Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hannover, NH, USA


H. Ehrig (1993 Kloosterman)


Graph transformations


A. Salomaa (1988 Kloosterman)


Formal languages and automata