Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Fundamental Research in Chemical Biology

Chemical Biology Lectures

The Leiden Institute of Chemistry is proud to offer the “Leiden Chemical Biology Lectures”. This lecture series aims to bring excellent researchers in the field of chemical biology to our university, and to expose our students to top science conducted in this area.

The Lecture series further exemplifies the focus within Leiden Institute of Chemistry on understanding biological processes at the molecular level to strengthen the knowledge base of human health and disease. The series is open for all, but especially aimed at the group members of Bio-organic Synthesis, Macromolecular Biochemistry and Supramolecular Chemistry & Biomaterials.

The Leiden Chemical Biology Lectures will be held twice a month, alternating between external and internal speakers. The format for the external talks is a single lecture, followed by a Q&A session, and an informal "meet-and-greet" with interested students outside the venue. For the internal sessions, two of our own PhD students are selected to present their work.

Previously invited speakers

Dr. Vicente Verez-Bencomo (Finlay Institute for Vaccine Research, Havana)
Prof. Eric Meggers (Philips Universität Marburg)
Dr. Victoria DeRose (University of Oregon)
Prof. dr. Bénédicte Manoury (Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale, Paris)
Dr. Marc Vendrell (University of Edinburgh)
Prof. Andrew Wilson (University of Leeds)
Prof. Andreas Marx (Universität Konstanz)
Prof. Benjamin Cravatt (The Scripps Research Institute)
Dr. ing. Tom Wennekes (Universiteit Utrecht)
Prof. Ronald Raines (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Prof. Benjamin G. Davis (University of Oxford)
Prof. John Sutherland (MRC Cambridge)

Prof. Klaus Müllen (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, Germany)
Prof. Michael Ferguson (University of Dundee)
Prof. Chris Schofield (Oxford University, Chemistry Research Laboratory)
Prof. Koichi Fukase (Department of Chemistry, Graduate School of Science, Osaka University)
Prof. dr. Uwe Karst (Department of Analytical Chemistry, University of Münster, Germany)
Dr. Eric Reits (AMC)
Dr. Marco Timmers (Synthon)
Prof. dr. Dirk Trauner (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany)
Prof. dr. Luigi Messori (Department of Chemistry, University of Florence)
Dr. Angela Casini (Research Institute of Pharmacy, University of Groningen)
Dr. Lorenzo Albertazzi (Institute for Complex Molecular Systems, TUE)
Prof. Stephen Withers (Centre for High-Throughput Biology (CHiBi) and Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of British Columbia)
Dr. Rienk Eelkema (Delft University of Technology)
Prof. Roderich Süssmuth (Robert Wichert Chair of Chemical Biology, Technische Universität Berlin)

This website uses cookies.  More information.