Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Festival

HANDS! Festival 2021 on African Sign Languages and Deaf Studies

Date
Saturday 12 June 2021
Time
Explanation
15h-17h CET (The Netherlands) 14h-16h GMT (Guinea-Bissau/Ghana) 16h-18h CAT (Burundi/South Africa) 17h-19h EAT (Kenya/Ethiopia)
Location
Online via Zoom

On 12 June 2021, Leiden University presents the HANDS! Festival to showcase the beauty of sign languages in Africa and the Netherlands. This event was orginally scheduled to take place in 2020 but due to the spread of the coronavirus, this event will instead take place online in June 2021 (via Zoom).

The HANDS! Festival features performances of the winning contributions of a sign language literature competition in various African countries, pop up talks by sign language researchers, and performances of deaf artists in the Netherlands.

Festival programme includes (via Zoom):

  • Visual Vernacular (VV) and Sign Language Poems Show
  • African Deaf Dance from Ghana
  • Deaf Artists Handicrafts
  • Interviews

This video can not be shown because you did not accept cookies.

You can leave our website to view this video.

*The festival is sponsored by AFRICA 2020 and Leids Universiteits Fonds.

This website uses cookies.  More information.