Universiteit Leiden

nl en


European Social Science History Conference 2020

Wednesday 18 March 2020 - Saturday 21 March 2020
Time schedule will be announced later.
Johan Huizinga
Doelensteeg 16
2311 VL Leiden

A conference to bring together scholars who explain historical phenomena using the methods of the social sciences.

15 April 2019 is the deadline for sending in your paper and session proposals for the ESSHC 2020.
Every interested historian or social scientist can send in a proposal.

More exact information about the location and timeschedule will be announced later.  


The networks are:

Africa Chairs: Mirjam de Bruijn, Stefano Bellucci

Antiquity Chairs: Neville Morley, Arjan Zuiderhoek

Asia Chairs: Nandini Gooptu, Sneha Krishnan

Criminal Justice Chairs: Zoe Alker, Nuno Camarinhas, Marion Pluskota

Culture Chairs: Magdalena Elchinova, Heidi Kurvinen

Economic History Chairs: Erdem Kabadayi, Christiaan van Bochove, Tamas Vonyo

Education and Childhood, Chairs: Bengt Sandin

Elites and forerunners Chairs: Marja Vuorinen

Ethnicity and Migration Chairs: Marlou Schrover, Phillipe Rygiel, Per-Olof Gronberg

Family and Demography Chairs: Hideko Matsuo, Mikolaj Szoltysek, Joana-Maria Pujades

Global History Chairs: Matthias Middell, Holger Weiss

 Health and EnvironmentChairs: Ida Milne

Labour Chairs: Görkem Akgöz, Peyman Jafari, Hanne Østhus

Latin America Chairs: Kim Clark, Paulo Drinot

Material and Consumer Culture Chairs: Christine Fertig, Jon Stobart, Ilja van Damme

Middle Ages Chairs: Jelle Haemers, Jesús Ángel Solorzano Telechea

Oral History and Life Stories Chairs: Andrea Strutz, Malin Thor Tureby, Anne Heimo

Politics, Citizenship, and Nations Chairs: Anne Epstein, José Reis Santos

Religion Chairs: Silvia Evangelisti, Patrick Pasture

Rural Chairs: Dulce Freire, Tim Soens

Science and Technology Chairs: Alessandro Nuvolari

Sexuality Chairs: Chiara Beccalossi, Wannes Dupont, Julie Gammon

Social Inequality Chairs: Tymofii Brik, Lynn Hollen Lees, Marco van Leeuwen

Spatial and digital history Chairs: Doug Brown, Michal Gochna, Ivo Zandhuis, Douwe

Theory Chairs: Thomas Welskopp, Stefan Berger, Berber Bevernage

Urban Chairs: John Davis, Jeannette Kamp

Women and Gender Chairs: Bettina Brandt, Raisa Toivo, Marianna Muravyeva


The European Social Science History Conference is organized by the International Institute of Social History (IISH). 


This website uses cookies. More information