Universiteit Leiden

nl en

University Ceremony

Opening Academic Year 2017-2018

Monday 4 September 2017
Pieterskerkhof 1A
2311 SR Leiden

The Executive Board of Leiden University is pleased to invite you to attend the opening of the 2017-2018  Academic Year.

Merijn Tinga
Merijn Tinga will deliver the Opening Address


  • Procession of students and professors
  • Welcome by Professor Carel Stolker, Rector Magnificus and President of the Executive Board
  • Opening Address by Merijn Tinga, Leiden alumnus Biology, Plastic Soup Surfer and forerunner of a sustainable world, in which we recycle everything
  • Musical interlude performed by the Choir of the Leiden Student Choir and Orchestra Collegium Musicum
  • Learning@LeidenUniversity by Professor Hester Bijl, Vice-Rector Magnificus
  • Presentation of the 2017 Leiden Teaching Prize by Ghislaine Voogd, Chair of the Leiden University Student Platform
  • Conferral of the 2017 Gratama Science Prize
  • Closing remarks by Professor Carel Stolker
  • Reception

You are kindly requested to be seated before 14:55 hrs. The programme will commence at 15:00 hrs promptly. The ceremony will be followed by a reception in the Pieterskerk, at approximately 16.30 hrs.

This website uses cookies.  More information.