Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Conference | Ceremony

Dies natalis

Wednesday 8 February 2017
Pieterskerkhof 1A
2311 SL Leiden

The Executive Board of Leiden University is pleased to invite you to the celebration of the 442nd Dies natalis on Wednesday, 8 February 2017 at 15:00 hrs in the Pieterskerk Leiden, Pieterskerkhof 1A.

The ceremony also marks the official opening of the Leiden Asia Year 2017.

Dies lectures

The Dies lectures will be delivered by:

  • Jan Michiel Otto, Professor of Law and Governance in Developing Countries at the Van Vollenhoven Institute for law, governance, and society. His lecture will be entitled: Unity in diversity – the topicality of Mr. C. Van Vollenhoven. 
  • Maria Yazdanbakhsh, Professor of Immunoparasitology, Leiden University Medical Center (LUMC). Her lecture will be entitled: From parasitism to mutualism. 

Honorary Doctorate

During the ceremony, an Honorary Doctorate will be conferred on Frank Dikötter, Professor of Humanities at the University of Hong Kong. The Honorary Supervisor is Hilde De Weerdt, Professor of Chinese History, Faculty of Humanities, Leiden University. Dean is Professor Mirjam de Baar.

In between the lectures, you can enjoy performances by the gamelan ensemble Widosari.

Finally, Professor Carel Stolker, Rector Magnificus and President of the Executive Board, will reflect on his period of Rector.

Time schedule

The programme will commence at 15:00 hrs. precisely. You are kindly requested to be seated before 14:50 hrs.

During the reception following the official ceremony, there will be the opportunity
to congratulate the members of the Executive Board of the University, the Dies lecturers, the Honorary Doctor and his Supervisor, the Deans of the faculties, and their partners. The reception will start at approximately 17:00 hrs.


This website uses cookies.  More information.