The Hague International Space Resources Governance Working Group_16 April 2019
View this email in your browser

The Role and Relevance of the The Hague International Space Resources Governance Working Group

Symposium organized by the Netherlands Space Society (NVR), in collaboration with the International Institute of Air and Space Law (IIASL) and SpaceNed, on the occasion of the festive appointment of Tanja Masson- Zwaan as Honorary Member of the Netherlands Space Society.

Tuesday, 16 April 2019
18.30 - 22.00

In the long history of the Netherlands Space Society, several key space persons have been appointed as Honorary Member. Jan de Koomen (appointed in 1991), Karel Wakker (in 1998), Piet Smolders (in 2001), André Kuipers (in 2004), Daan de Hoop (in 2005), Kees de Jager (in 2011) and Bart Reijnen (in 2015)  are the current Honorary Members. The 2018 General Assembly of the NVR approved the appointment of Tanja Masson - Zwaan as new Honorary Member and that appointment will be celebrated with a special event on April 16th.

The appointment will take place during a festive symposium focussing on the topical theme of ‘The Role and Relevance of the The Hague International Space Resources Governance Working Group’, one of the current responsibilities of Tanja Masson - Zwaan (
The organisers are very pleased to have secured keynotes by some members of this Working Group.

18:30    Registration, coffee & sandwiches  
19:00    Welcome and introduction, Gerard Blaauw (chairman NVR)
19:10    Presentations
  • The Scramble for Space’, Rene Lefeber, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, chairman of the Working Group
  • Benefit and the Outer Space Treaty: Principle and Pathway’, Michael Simpson, vice-chairman of the Working Group, executive director emeritus at Secure World Foundation, former ISU president
  • ‘The Hague Building Blocks from the Perspective of the ITU Regime’, Mahulena Hofmann, University of Luxemburg
  • ‘A Scientific Perspective on Space Resources’, Ian Crawford, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Birkbeck College, London
20:30    Festive Appointment of Tanja Masson - Zwaan as Honorary Member of the NVR
20:45    Drinks
22:00    End


Do you want to attend this event? Please register before April 10th by sending an e-mail to Richelle Scheffers via


NVR and SpaceNed members: Free
Introducees: € 5,00


Leiden Law School, Lorentzroom (A144)
Kamerlingh Onnes Building
Steenschuur 25
2311 ES Leiden

De NVR Event Policy is van toepassing op dit evenement.
Copyright © 2019 Nederlandse Vereniging voor Ruimtevaart, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp