Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Award ceremony

World Cultural Council Awards 2017

8 november 2017
Pieterskerkhof 1a
2311 SL Leiden

The World Cultural Council (WCC) and Universiteit Leiden/Leiden University are pleased to announce that the 34th Award Ceremony will take place on Wednesday 8 November 2017 in Leiden.

Leonardo World Award of Arts

At the event, the Albert Einstein World Award of Science and the Leonardo World Award of Arts will be conferred on eminent pioneers in their respective fields in honour of their tireless efforts to advance human culture and well-being. In 2015, Professor Ewine van Dishoeck from Leiden University, an expert in Molecular Astrophysics, was selected for the Albert Einstein World Award of Science for her contribution to understanding the universe at the atomic level. 

About the World Cultural Council

The World Cultural Council (WCC) is an international organization based in Mexico. Members of the Council are eminent global scientists and personalities and include numerous Nobel laureates. The objectives of the WCC are to promote scholarship, art and culture and to foster fraternity among people, nations and governments, based on mutual respect for the ideology, religion, race, and gender.

Albert Einstein World Award of Science

One of the means of achieving these objectives is by granting the Albert Einstein World Award of Science, the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education and the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts to outstanding individuals or organizations whose work has had a significant and positive impact on the cultural enrichment of mankind.

The WCC annually organises an Award Ceremony at which these recognitions are conferred. Each ceremony is held in a different country with a renowned university or academic institute acting as host.

In rewarding outstanding individuals, the World Cultural Council pays tribute to their remarkable achievements as well as their relentless persistence. Their hard-earned breakthroughs in the fields of knowledge, learning and creativity have rendered an invaluable service to mankind and improved the welfare of all of us who share this planet.

Since its foundation in 1981, the dedicated work of our members has produced a long list of distinguished award-winners, selected on the basis of a careful evaluation of their merits.